Various Artists - Jazzanova Presents Paz E Futebol 3 - Compiled By Junior Santos

by Various Artists


The time has come again: Another edition of the much-loved and highly praised by critics from all around the globe compilation «Paz E Futebol» will be released on Sonar Kollektiv. After 2006 and 2016 this is already the third sequel of this terrific series of light-footed Brazilian gems and other rarities transporting the Brazilian feel for the ball musically.

Two times Jazzanova took care of the collection, now Junior Santos is responsible for digging up the tunes. The Brazilian drummer and producer is a true expert when it comes to Brazilian music. He already caught the attention of Jazzanova’s Jürgen von Knoblauch with the 2014 released compilation «Brazilian Disco Boogie Sounds (1978-1982)» on Favorite Recordings. Together the two diggers selected eight songs that fit simply perfectly. Due to licensing reasons, the digital compilation features 2 additional songs. Chico de Abreu and an unreleased track by Beto Luiz called "Uma Canção Que Fale” chosen by Juergen von Knoblauch.. Although the contributions originate from three different decades (1979 - 1992) they all have the discoid and boogiesque vibe in common mainly to come alive in productions from Maranhão, Rio and Bahia.

The release is accompanied by extensive liner notes by Junior Santos (in Portuguese and English). Just now in the colder and greyer season this compilation is great fun and radiates so much joy like only Brazilian music can.


1x 12" LP, 180gm, compilation 


A1. Carlinhos Santos E Grupo Ceu - Nago

A2. San Rodrigues - Fofa

A3. Sonia Burnier - Por Isso Eu Canto

A4. Gerude - Pungar

B1. Elza Soares - Som, Amor, Trabalho E Progresso

B2. Emmlio Santiago - Mais Que Um Momento

B3. Brunno - Depois Da Praia

B4. Beto Luiz - Chuva De Beijos


Sonar Kollektiv, 2020

[Funk/Soul] [Latin] [MPB] [Bossanova] [Disco] [Boogie]