Trees Speak - Ohms (Limited Edition)

by Trees Speak


This is a super-limited strictly 1000 copy one-off only edition pressed on white coloured vinyl of this in-demand Trees Speak classic debut album.

When the band Trees Speak, coming out of nowhere, released an exclusive one-off 100-pressing white label 45, described as CAN/NEU! meets LIQUID LIQUID, it sold out so quickly (in less than 30 min) that Soul Jazz Records decided to release their album almost immediately.

Soul Jazz Records rarely release new music but found the music of TREES SPEAK’s album ‘OHMS’ so stunning and to have so many elements of music that they admired that they felt compelled to release it.

The group Trees Speak are from Tucson, Arizona and create new music that sounds like GERMAN KRAUTROCK meets NO WAVE/POST-PUNK and PSYCH ROCK – music for fans of CLUSTER, TANGERINE DREAM, CAN, NEU!, SILVER APPLES and early KRAFTWERK.

The album ‘OHMS’ sounds at times like a tripped out & moody JOHN CARPENTER/GOBLIN/MORRICONE soundtrack that seamlessly segues into propulsive, ‘motorik’ Krautrock instrumentals loaded with fuzzy, hypnotic mellotron, synths and analogue effects, as well as elements of ART ENSEMBLE free jazz, and all at times reaching a kind of post-rave psychedelia. More recent comparisons would include BEAK and GHOST BOX who draw upon similar themes and styles.

Trees Speak are Daniel Martin Diaz and Damian Diaz plus musicians from the Tucson, Arizona scene such as Giant Sand, XIXA and James Hunter. ‘Trees Speak’ relates to the idea of future technologies storing information and data in Trees and plants – using them as hard drives – and the idea that Trees communicate collectively.


1x 12" LP, Limited Edition (1,000 copies), White vinyl


A1          Soul Sequencer
A2          Nitrous Cross    
A3          Shadow Circuit 
A4          Blame Shifter
A5          Spirit Duplicator             
A6          Nobody Knows 
A7          Sadness In Wires            
B1          State Of Clear   
B2          Sleep Crime      
B3          Knowing            
B4          Splendid Sun    
B5          Ohms
B6          Out Of View
B7          Psychic Wounds
B8          Silicone Emotions
B9          Octave Cycle


Soul Jazz Records, 2021 reissue

Originally released 2020


[Electronic] [Rock] [Krautrock] [Psychedelic Rock] [Post-Punk]