Tom Waits - The Heart of Saturday Night

by Tom Waits


Expanding beyond the folk and pop stylings of his first album, 'Heart of Saturday Night,' Waits’ second studio release, established his reputation as a versatile and distinctly American songwriter. Its bluesy jazz arrangements featured bass, drums, sax and Waits on piano. The title track, a melancholy ode to Saturday night rituals, and the tenderly romantic hymn-like 'San Diego Serenade' are enduring classics covered by an array of artists from Diana Krall and Nancy Griffith to folk hero Eric Anderson. The album also features the first of what would become a signature for Waits’, the spoken word-poetry song, 'Diamonds on My Windshield'. Waits’ delivers these lyrics as pure beat jazz in the stylings of Kerouac , Langston Hughes and Bob Kaufman.

1x 12" LP, 180gm, glossy printed inner sleeve with lyrics, digital download


A1. New Coat of Paint

A2. San Diego Serenade

A3. Semi Suite

A4. Shiver Me Timbers

A5. Diamonds On My Windshield

A6. (Looking For) the Heart of Saturday Night

B1. Fumblin' With the Blues

B2. Please Call Me, Baby

B3. Depot, Depot

B4. Drunk On the Moon

B5. The Ghosts of Saturday Night (After Hours At Napoleone's Piz


Anti-, 2018 reissue

Originally released 1974

[Rock] [Blues Rock] [Singer Songwriter]