Leisure Society - Arrivals and Departures

by The Leisure Society


On the 10th anniversary of their first ever single (The Last of the Melting Snow), The Leisure Society release a new single entitled God Has Taken a Vacation, along with news of their fifth album, Arrivals & Departures. Speaking of the release of the new single, their highly-lauded songwriter Nick Hemming said: "I started writing the song about my break up, but world events started finding their way in too. Division, borders, a loss of hope. There were a lot of shared themes!” During the promotion of the band’s previous LP, The Fine Art of Hanging On, Nick and their flautist Helen Whitaker went through a long process of separation, ultimately resulting in Nick moving out of their Brighton home. This displacement set the tone for the next 18 months, as Nick moved from one temporary accommodation to the next, writing and recording demos constantly as he came to terms with the break up - which would eventually become the foundation of their upcoming fifth full length album, Arrivals & Departures.


2x 12" LP, gatefold sleeve


A1 Arrivals & Departures

A2 A Bird, A Bee, Humanity

A3 God Has Taken a Vacation

A4 I'll Pay For It Now

B5 Overheard

B6 Let Me Bring You Down

B7 Be You Wherever

B8 Arundel Tomb

C9 Don't Want to Do It Again

C10 Mistakes on the Field (Part 1)

C11 Mistakes on the Field (Part 2)

C12 Leave Me To Sleep

D13 Beat of a Drum

D14 There Are No Rules Around Here

D15 You've Got The Universe

D16 Ways to Be Saved


Ego Drain Records, 2019


[Rock] [Indie Rock] [Indie Pop] [Folk] [Folk Pop]