Headhunters - Straight From The Gate

by The Headhunters


The Headhunters' Straight From The Gate was their 2nd album and was released in 1977. Originally started as a jazz-fusion band fronted by Herbie Hancock, members Paul Jackson, Bennie Maupin, Michael Clark, Paul Potyen, Derrick Youman and Obsidion Blackbiyrd delved further into jazz-rock and fusion sounds and recorded the album at The Automatt studios in San Francisco.

The Headhunters use a wide range of instruments. From the electric piano, to tenor and soprano saxophone, flute, sitar, electric and acoustic guitar as well as adopting an early ARP synthesizer. Their music is certainly a blend of many styles and genres, including R&B, funk and African rhythms and it is widely accepted that The Headhunters made their mark on the "serious" jazz scene.

1x 12" LP, 180gm


A1. Straight From the Gate
A2. Mayonnaise
A3. Ms. Yum Yum
A4. Don't Kill Our Feelings
B1. Descending Azzizziuh (the Beginning of a Dream)
B2. I Remember I Made You Cry
B3. Pork Soda
B4. Dreams
B5. Silhouette


Music On Vinyl, 2018 reissue

Originally released 1977

[Funk/Soul] [Jazz/Funk] [Fusion] [Jazz Rock] [Rhythm & Blues]