National - Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers

by The National


The National’s second album, Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers (2003) proved a leap forward from 2001’s eponymous debut, showing a band adept at delivering warm embraces and gut punches in equal measure. With word of mouth now spreading on the band, critics proved equally enthusiastic... Pitchfork in their glowing review called it a “Gorgeous train wreck” that “Lives up to its blunt title (with) Matt Berninger’s self-eff acing barbs matched by the band’s equally potent hooks,” while Uncut also became early champions saying the album was “A genuine treasure... Livid as a bruise, this is brave, desperate, beautiful music.” No longer a secret among those that know, Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers is an important record in The National’s discography with this new remaster showing that it’s more than standing the test of time.


1x 12" LP

A1          Cardinal Song
A2          Slipping Husband           
A3          90-Mile Water Wall       
A4          It Never Happened        
A5          Murder Me Rachael
B1          Thirsty
B2          Available           
B3          Sugar Wife
B4          Trophy Wife      
B5          Fashion Coat     
B6          Patterns Of Fairytales   
B7          Lucky You



4AD, 2021 reissue
4AD0313LP  [0191400031319]

Originally released 2003

[Rock] [Alternative Rock]