Modern Lovers - Rock n' Roll With The Modern Lovers

by Modern Lovers


Rock 'n Roll with the Modern Lovers is the second album released as Jonathan Richman and The Modern Lovers. The band, which is build around singer-songwriter and guitarist Jonathan Richman, almost totally focuses on the sound from the ‘50s. The lo-fi record breathes folky roots music and rock ‘n roll as it would sound ages ago. "Ice Cream Man", "Egyptian Reggae" (earning them a UK Top 5 hit) and "Roller Coaster by the Sea" are all superb songs, uncomplicated and wonderful. This is one of the most remarkable projects recorded by Jonathan.

The Modern Lovers were formed in 1970 by teenage singer, songwriter, guitarist Jonathan Richman, augmented with Jerry Harrison (keyboards), Ernie Brooks (bass) and David Robinson (drums), with Richman's friend and original band member John Felice joining them occasionally.


1x 12" LP, 180gm, Limited Edition 1.500 copies, Turquoise coloured vinyl, individually numbered


A1. The Sweeping Wind (Kwa Ti Feng)
A2. Ice Cream Man
A3. Rockin' Rockin' Leprechauns
A4. Summer Morning
A5. Afternoon
A6. Fly Into the Mystery
B1. South American Folk Song
B2. Roller Coaster By the Sea
B3. Dodge Veg-O-Matic
B4. Egyptian Reggae
B5. Coomyah
B6. The Wheels On the Bus
B7. Angels Watching Over Me


    Music On Vinyl, 2019 reissue

    Originally released 1977

    [Rock] [Rock n' Roll] [Pop Rock]