Kurt Vile - Speed, Sound, Lonely KV (EP)

by Kurt Vile


As may be discerned from the title and tracklist, it's a love letter of sorts to some of Kurt’s musical heroes and to Nashville, where it was recorded. It has two covers of John Prine — 'Speed of the Sound of Loneliness’ and ‘How Lucky’ — with Prine himself appearing on vocals and guitar on the latter, in one of his final recordings made at the beginning of this year. Elsewhere it features two new original Kurt Vile songs (‘Dandelions’, ‘Pearls’), and a cover of Cowboy Jack Clement (‘Gone Girl’).

The recordings feature a truly all-star cast of musicians including Dan Auerbach (Black Keys), Matt Sweeney, and a host of legendary Nashville session players including 'You Are Always On My Mind’ keyboardist Bobby Wood (Wille Nelson, Elvis Presley, Merle Haggard, Johnny Cash), bassist Dave Roe (Johnny Cash, Loretta Lynn, Jerry Reed), mandolin player Pat McLaughlin (Johnny Cash, Jack Clement, Neil Diamond), and drummer Kenny Malone (John Prine, Tony Joe White)

1x 12" EP, 45rpm


A1          Speed Of The Sound Of Loneliness
A2          Gone Girl
A3          Dandelions
B1          How Lucky
B2          Pearls


Matador, 2021
OLE1651T [0191401165112]


[Rock] [Folk] [Country]