Daniel Avery - Song For Alpha

by Daniel Avery


Five years after his critically-acclaimed debut Drone Logic, London based producer Daniel Avery released his highly-anticipated second album, Song For Alpha.

The new long player, on which the track “Slow Fade” will appear, follows 2013’s incendiary debut Drone Logic. Upon its release the latter was called “A mesmerising debut" by Mixmag and "A benchmark for so many other dance albums to aspire to" by Dummy, while Pitchfork proclaimed “Avery owns this space.” “Underground dance music with this sort of ambition hasn’t been heard in quite a while", noted Resident Advisor, and Q hailed "The arrival of a new leftfield dance superstar."

In the years since, Avery has helmed a DJ-Kicks mix CD, resided over a monthly radio show for NTS Live, curated an extensive remix compilation and collaborated on a series of side-projects including a recent release with Nine Inch Nails synth specialist Alessandro Cortini. He has also toured relentlessly, cementing a reputation as one of the defining techno DJs of the decade.

Song For Alpha is Avery’s exploration of the space in which home listening and club music intersect, in no small part inspired by his transient life spent between nightclubs, flights, the passenger seats of cars and hotel rooms. He confirms, “Drone Logic’s spiritual home was the dancefloor. This record’s is definitely the road. Those late nights and hazy mornings, finding inspiration beyond the fog.”

2x 12" LP, 180gm, gatefold sleeve, digital download

A1. First Light
    A2. Stereo L
      A3. Projector
        A4. Tbw17
          B1. Sensation
            B2. Citizen // Nowhere
              B3. Clear

              C1. Diminuendo
                C2. Days From Now
                  C3. Embers
                    C4. Slow Fade
                      D1. Glitter
                        D2. Endnote

                          D3. Quick Eternity


                          Phantasy Sound, 2018


                          [Electronic] [Techno] [House] [Ambient]