Archive - Londinium (25th Anniversary Edition)

by Archive


In 1994 the South London collective Archive was formed by Darius Keeler and Danny Griffiths together with female singer Roya Arab and young rapper Rosko John. Unfortunately, a few months later, they broke up, however Darius and Danny regrouped and continued releasing more Archive albums. Their 1996 debut album Londinium features a very strong mix of trip-hop, electronica, string arrangements, and female vocals from Roya Arab. Rosko John’s tough-spoken words are very similar to Tricky, Future Sound Of London and Massive Attack. The original 1996 issue only came out as a limited edition advance release, and has steadily built in reputation as a rare and expensive record to get a hold of. Fun fact: the song “Londinium” was featured on the Playstation 1 demo-disc and the music video was directed by Matt Cook.

This 25th Anniversary Edition of Londinium by Archive features the singles “So Few Words”, “Londinium”, and guest appearance from Underworld’s Karl Hyde on bass on “Headspace”, the “hidden track” amongst others. It is packed in a gatefold sleeve, and includes a 4-page booklet with song lyrics and credits.



2x 12" LP, 180gm, gatefold sleeve


A1          Old Artist
A2          All Time             
A3          So Few Words  
B1          Headspace
B2          Darkroom         
B3          Londinium        
C1          Man-Made
C2          Nothing Else
C3          Skyscraper        
C4          Parvaneh (Butterfly)
D1         Parvaneh (Butterfly)      
D2         Beautiful World
D3         Organ Song
D4         Last Five



Music On Vinyl, 2021 reissue
MOVLP2805  [0600753927458]

Originally released 1996


[Electronic] [Trip Hop] [Hip Hop] [Downtempo]