Young Fathers - Cocoa Sugar

by Young Fathers


In November 2017, Young Fathers announced that they’d completed work on a new album. The trio – Alloysious Massaquoi, Graham ‘G’ Hastings and Kayus Bankole – marked the news by previewing a brand new song, ‘Lord’ and a subsequent accompanying video. Just like their previous standalone 2017 single ‘Only God Knows’ (written for the Trainspotting T2 film and described by director Danny Boyle as “the heartbeat of the film”), ‘Lord’ provided an enticing glimpse of what to expect from Young Fathers’ third full album; something typically unique and exhilarating, but leaner, more muscular and self-assured than ever before. Today, Young Fathers announce full details of that album. Titled Cocoa Sugar, the twelve track album was released on 9th March 2018 via Ninja Tune and follows the group’s previous two albums; 2014’s Mercury Prize-winning DEAD and 2015’s White Men Are Black Men Too. Written and recorded throughout 2017 in the band’s basement studio and HQ, Cocoa Sugar sees Young Fathers operating with a newfound clarity and direction, and is without doubt their most confident and complete statement to date.

1x 12" LP, 180gm, gloss laminate sleeve, digital download

A1. See How
A2. Fee Fi
A3. In My View
A4. Turn
A5. Lord
A6. Tremolo
B1. Wow
B2. Border Girl
B3. Holy Ghost
B4. Wire
B5. Toy
B6. Picking You


    Ninja Tune, 2018


    [Hip Hop] [Rap] [Alternative Rap] [Electronic] [Alternative Rock] [Indie Electronic]